Lloyd International Honors College

Change the way you look at the world!          SpartanLink   LIHC on Facebook    LIHC Twitter

UNCG Home > LIHC Home > Scholarships & Fellowships

Scholarships for Incoming Honors Students

ARE YOU READY TO TAKE ON THE WORLD? Do you hope to use your intellectual gifts for the common good? Are you patient yet persistent? Do you have a vision of your future? Are you fueled by passion?

The Honors College awards the prestigious Katharine Smith Reynolds Scholarship, which is made possible by the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation of Winston-Salem for North Carolina residents. Reynolds Scholars receive four years of generous funding ($8000 per year) and are eligible to receive stipends for community service involvement ($1250), participation in an internship ($1250), and study abroad ($2500*).

Up to eight new Reynolds Scholars will be selected to begin fall 2016. For best consideration, applicants to the Honors College must complete their UNCG application and the supplemental Honors College Application by December 1, 2015.

*This amount is in lieu of the regular LIHC travel scholarship, currently $1300 for a UNCG semester-long study away experience.

The Lena Anne Gordon International Honors College Scholarship
The Lena Anne Gordon Lloyd International Honors College Scholarship recognizes two incoming first-year students with one-time merit scholarships of $1,250. Recipients are students who are currently admitted to Lloyd International Honors College with preference given to students in the School of Education, the School of Health and Human Sciences, and the School of Music, Theatre, and Dance. Recipients are selected by a committee appointed by the Dean of Lloyd International Honors College, working in coordination with the Financial Aid Office. Students who receive a Gordon Honors College Scholarship are expected to maintain the high standards of conduct and academic performance befitting of an Honors College student. No separate application is necessary to be considered for the Lena Anne Gordon Lloyd International Honors College Scholarship.   Read more...

Scholarships for Current Honors Students

The Rebecca Lloyd International Honors Scholarship and the Aubrey Paul and Georgia Garrison Lloyd Honors Scholarship are intended to recognize the exceptional performance of students during their first year in Lloyd International Honors College and to provide financial support to those first-year students as they move forward at UNCG both in the Honors College and in their intended academic program. Combined, ten of these scholarships, each worth $1,500, will be awarded for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Honors College students are eligible to apply if they have earned less than 30 credit hours at UNCG at the time of application, have a 3.8 grade point average or higher, and have successfully completed HSS 198 and their first-semester honors seminar in the College with a grade of "B" or better in both classes. For the Rebecca Lloyd International Honors Scholarship, the candidate must also have demonstrated financial need as indicated on the student's FAFSA.

A complete application must be submitted to Lloyd International Honors College offices at 205 Foust Building by 5pm on April 17, 2015. The application form may be found HERE.

Lichtin Family Honors Scholarship

Through the generosity of Noel Lichtin, an alumna of UNCG, and her family, Lloyd International Honors College is delighted to offer two Lichtin Family Honors Scholarships: one to a rising junior and one to a rising senior Honors student with exemplary past academic performance and promise for continued high level work in Honors. The competitive, merit scholarship is awarded annually at the Honors Banquet in the spring and carries an award of up to $2,000.

Awards are made on the basis of past academic performance, a personal statement, and two letters of recommendation.

Lichtin Family Honors Scholarship Application Form (*PDF) and Recommendation Form (*PDF).

Past Recepients:
2014-2015: William Hueholt and Summer Drum
2013-2014: Samantha Kane
2012-2013: Alayna Ward
2011-2012: Daniel Nasrallah
2010-2011: Shaquinta "Quinn" Hedgepeth
2009-2010: Gina Hurley
2008-2009: Brittany Renee Atkinson
2007-2008: Rachel E. Pullen
2006-2007: Jonae Wartel
2005-2006: Heather Gibson

Please note: some forms require the Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader, which can be downloaded from the Adobe web site.